知识服务

关注我们,了解更多酒店网络营销知识与动态

Hotel and Resort Digital Marketing Budgets: Avoid the Headaches and Get it Right!

2013-10-19

Share to:

By:William Bellis III, Senior Corporate Marketing Manager atVizergy®, with contributions fromJoe Hyman, President & CEO, andPaul Fraser, Director of Product Management


Part oneof this series helped you get confidently set up for your 2014 digital marketing budget planning. It shed light on key issues that you should consider.Part twohighlighted primary digital marketing channels and initiatives vital to all property types in 2014. Part three will now recommend dollar percentage allocations across those channels and initiatives, broach ROI, and provide your team a digital marketing budget template.


Get your 2014 digital marketing budget template here.

Note: For our budget template, we used an independent hotel with the following assumptions:

  • 200 rooms
  • $125.00 average daily rate
  • 68% occupancy
  • $6.2 million total annual revenue
  • 30% of total revenue through web direct (does not include OTA bookings)


Part Three – Percentage Allocations, ROI, and Your Budgeting Template

Parts one and two of this series, which you can find linked in the paragraph above, set us up to discuss two crucial items that are a constant debate amongst hoteliers, especially when developing digital marketing budgets – percentage allocations and ROI. Specifically, what percentage of your total digital marketing budget should be devoted to each channel or tool, and what total return on investment (ROI) you should expect from your efforts.


Note – All of these recommended percentages are not one size fits all properties. They're based on Vizergy's proprietary industry and client data, third party research, and various industry projections. Shifting share to more profitable, direct sales channels was also a major consideration in formulate our recommendations. So while it's impossible to speak directly to any one property budget, the ranges we provide should be thought of as general rules of thumb that vary depending on your property's seasonality, business mix, demand generators, booking window, booking pace, stay patterns, market position, occupancy, property size, etc.


Percentage Allocations

Now let's get right to it. Below is a chart with primary digital infrastructure, channels and initiatives, including the six that we highlighted in part two of this series, along with our recommended percentage allocations (of total digital marketing budget):

Digital Infrastructure, Channels & Initiatives   |   Percentage Allocation


Capital Investments, Consulting & Operations 

1. Account Management Strategy, Consulting & Project Management   |   6-10
2.Website Design, Development & Ongoing Optimization (hosting, design, copy, video, photography, user experience, reservation abandonment capture)   |   8-20%
3. Web Analytics, Campaign Tracking & Call Tracking (Vizergy Hotel Web Management Platform)   |   4-6%

Core Digital Marketing Channels & Campaigns 

4.SEO (analysis, setup, ongoing management, including keyword research/targeting, , copywriting, meta data, link building, BrightEdge integration)   |   8-10%
5. Local Search (setup & optimization across Google+ Local, Bing Local & Yahoo Enhanced & three primary data providers – Localeze, Acxiom & Infogroup)   |   2-4%
6. PPC (Google & Bing/Yahoo setup, management , ongoing optimization & ad spend)   |   25-30%
7.Display Retargeting/Remarketing (setup, management, ongoing optimization & ad spend on Google Display Network & Adara)   |   10-12%
8. Meta Search (setup, management, ongoing optimization & ad spend on Google Hotel Price Ads, TripAdvisor Check Rates, Kayak, trivago)   |   10-12%
9. Social Media (setup, design modifications, posts on Facebook, Google+, Twitter, Pinterest)   |   2-4%
10. Email Marketing/eCRM (setup, management & optimization of design, creative, copy & distribution)   |   4-6%
11. Paid Links (Convention & Visitors Bureaus, Destination Marketing Organizations, local hotel directories)   |   2-4%

Need Period Marketing Campaigns & Initiatives

12.Limited Time Offers (Private Sales) with promotional codes via Email, Onsite Messaging, PPC, Display, Social (based on seasonality & booking pace)   |   4-6%


Notes: "Percentage Allocation" is the percentage of total digital marketing budget. Also, "Website Design and Development or Refresh" can mean traditional, tablet, and mobile site OR oneresponsive site.


Notice that our total percentage range is 85-124%, so it will obviously take some fine tuning to get your property's percentages to add up to exactly 100%.


To show why this is not one size fits all properties, consider the following example. A 10 room bed and breakfast with an equally small digital marketing budget may have to spend more than 10-20% of their budget for a new responsive website or a trio of desktop, desktop optimized tablet and mobile sites. On the other hand, a large destination resort with a budget to match may spend much less than 10-20% of their digital marketing budget on website design and development. And if your property has a recent design (less than two years) across all screens, you likely don't need to immediately invest in a new website.

We currently have hundreds of successful branded and independent clients working with similar budget allocations. And since third party research and industry projections (industry recovery and where travelers are researching and booking for example) were included in the development of our recommendations, we have the utmost confidence that we will help you shift share to more profitable channels, maximize both online visibility and direct bookings, and build loyalty in 2014.


Two Items We Feel Compelled to Address

These items weren't detailed in parts one and two, and we'd be remiss if we skip over them now, so here you go:

Pay special attention toNeed Period and Seasonal Marketing Campaigns. All hotels and resorts have slow, off season times – or need periods – that cover different time frames, from 1-2 days a week to 2-3 months a year. There are ways to counter these sluggish times though with intelligent and creative marketing campaigns with promotional codes. For example, limited time offers and private sales with promotional rates and/or packages (capitalizing on local events and attractions) delivered via email marketing, social media, search marketing and onsite messaging can shift demand and generate incremental revenue.


Don't overlook professional photography and videos. Photography can literally make or break an entire website design, especially since supersized header imagery is now a best practice. Imagery is directly where visitors' eyes migrate upon landing on your site. A vacant lobby photo taken with your smartphone vs. a busy lobby photo taken by a professional photographer in the right resolution will make a far better impression. The first step is investing in a professional photo shoot with a thoughtful shot list highlighting your property's key attributes and amenities that are most compelling to your target audience. Once you have these quality digital assets in a dedicated folder, it's easier to update your website and marketing campaigns to maximize engagement.


The Truth about ROI and What You Should Expect

There are deceiving ways to calculate ROI by manipulating the costs of and/or inaccurately attributing revenue to certain campaigns or efforts, so be careful when calculating your ROI or verifying ROI numbers that are presented to you. The bottom line is this – 10:1 should be a minimum overall goal. This means $10 in revenue is gained from every $1 spent. Now 20:1, 40:1 and even higher can happen in certain business situations, but 10:1 is a good starting point for digital marketing. So next time you read some outrageous ROI claim, think twice. And if you're performance data shows that you're consistently underachieving (less than 10:1), it may be time for different resources and strategies altogether.


ROI can also be expressed as a percentage, which looks better. Check out this example:

Revenue = $110,000

Total Cost (capital, operational, strategy, etc.) = $10,000

ROI Calculation: $110,000 - $10,000/$10,000 = 10:1 ROI

To express a 10:1 ROI as a percentage, you simply multiply by 100 to make it 1,000%. So when companies say "2,782% ROI," it could also be expressed as "28:1 ROI."

Anyhow, like we stated earlier, a 10:1 ROI should be your minimum initial goal. Gradually increasing 10:1 to 12:1 to 15:1, and so and so forth, is reasonable.

And as far as return on ad spend (ROAS) goes, remember that ROAS by definition, unlike ROI, does not include total cost (capital, operational, strategy, etc.). It only includes your actual ad spend. This means that ROAS will generally be even higher when expressed as a percentage. For example, $35,000 revenue/$1,000 ad spend = 35:1 or 3,500% ROAS.


Last but not least…

From part one, to part two, to the percentage allocations, we've provided you almost everything we planned. But perhaps the most important and useful takeaway from this series – your budgeting template – is all that remains. The following template is fully editable, with formulas that sum the columns and rows as you manipulate them. Like already mentioned, we plugged in some sample costs (that stay true to our percentage allocations), which may or may not be close to your hotel's or resort's budget. You may also have unique costs associated with certain tools that we don't include, but the template should be an excellent starting point for you to break down your monthly costs and form a well-organized and revenue driven digital marketing budget.


More information at hospitalitynet.org

知识服务

关注我们,了解更多酒店网络营销知识与动态

酒店数字营销预算:烦恼不再,入门有道!

2013-10-19

分享到:


     第一讲会在你做2014年度数字营销预算时助你一臂之力。它指出了哪些因素是在做预算时必须考虑进去的。第二讲则着重分析2014年度所有类型酒店都必须高度重视的数字营销渠道及方案。第三讲则针对不同渠道及方案给出投资分配,提升投资回报率。


     注意:在预算模板中,假设有一家单体酒店,满足以下条件:
    •客房200间
    •每日平均房价为125美金
    •入住率为68%
    •年度总收入为620万美金
    •总收入中,通过网络直销渠道(不含OTA预订)占比30%


第三讲 – 预算投资分配,投资回报率

     第一讲和第二讲 (上文已有相应链接)要讨论的是两个关键要素,它们引发了业界的长期争论,尤其是数字营销预算进行到分配比例与投资回报率环节时。不同的营销渠道或工具应该占预算多大比重?对投资回报有什么样的期望值才靠谱?以下都会为你娓娓道出。


      注意:所有的推荐预算投资分配均以Vizergy公司的专有业内客户数据、第三方研究及行业预测为基础,不可机械照搬。在做渠道推荐时,也得考虑把资金转移到有赚头的直销渠道。因此,不可能给出一份精确的预算,这里提供的数据只能作为大致的经验法则。明白了这些法则,再根据你的酒店的具体情况(如淡旺季,业务板块,需求群体,预订窗口,预订速度,订房动机,市场定位,市场占有率,酒店规模等指数)作具体的分析。


     好,言归正传。看下面的数据,它显示的是主要数字框架,营销渠道及方案,包括在第二讲强调的六个要素(数字框架,营销渠道及方案, 预算投资分配,投资,咨询,运营),还有我推荐的数字营销预算投资分配。


    1. 账户管理策略,咨询管理,项目管理     占 6-10%
    2. 网站设计、开发、持续优化(托管,设计,拷贝,视频,图片,用户体验,作废预订捕获)占8-20%
    3. 网页分析,活动跟进,电话跟进(基于Vizergy公司网页管理平台) 占4-6%
     4. 搜索引擎优化(分析,设置,维护,包括关键词研究、选定,文案,元数据,链接建设,BrightEdge整合)    占8-10%

     5. 局部搜索 (设置和优化Google+ Local, Bing Local , Yahoo Enhanced, 三大原始数据供应商Localeze, Acxiom & Infogroup)    占2-4%

      6. 付费点击 (Google & Bing/Yahoo 设置,维护,日常优化,投放广告) 占25-30%

      7. 显示重定向 (设置,维护,日常优化,在Google Display Network 和 Adara投放广告) 占10-12%

      8. 元搜索 (设置,维护,日常优化,在Google Hotel Price Ads, TripAdvisor Check Rates, Kayak, trivago投放广告)  占10-12%
      9. 社交媒体 (设置,设计修改,在Facebook, Google+, Twitter, Pinterest 上发帖) 占2-4%
      10. 邮件营销,电子客户关系管理(设置,维护及设计、创意、转载优化)   占4-6%

      11. 付费链接 (展会及访客组织,目的地营销组织,当地酒店指南) 占2-4%

      12. 通过邮件、官网、付费点击、展示、社交媒体(考虑季节性及预订速度)发送的含促销码的限时优惠(内部大降价)     占 4-6%


针对需求周期的营销活动及方案

      注:预算投资分配指的是数字营销总预算里的用于不同营销渠道的投资百分率。此外,“网站设计、开发或更新”既可以指传统的台式机,平板或手机站点,又可以指时兴的响应式网站。


      请注意,总比例从85%到124%不等,因此你需要先做些微调,把你的酒店的比例增至100%。


      下面我举一个例子来说明一下为何这个数值没有普遍说明意义。一家只有十间客房和一个小餐厅的小酒店,做了一份数目不大的数字营销预算,可能单单做一个新的响应式网站,或者买一个台式机、平板和手机网站的三件套,就能花掉预算的10-20%甚至更多。然而,一个大度假酒店,预算也高,做酒店网站设计开发花的钱就远远不到预算的10-20%。如果你的酒店在最近两年内有针对各种屏幕的设计,你就不必急着花钱做新网站。


      目前有数百家运行良好的品牌或单体酒店正在用我们的预算分配比例模式。此外,我们的推荐中也加入了第三方研究与行业预测(例如预测行业何时复苏,旅客会研究酒店网站哪部分,预订酒店哪些服务),因此,我们有充分信心助你在2014年把钱花在盈利好的营销渠道里,大大提升贵酒店的网络知名度、直销及顾客忠诚度。


两个不得不提的要素

      在第一、二讲中对两个要素讲得不多,可是,放过它们,就亏大了。现在就来看看它们究竟有多重要吧!


     要特别注意需求周期与季节性营销活动。一切酒店业务都有淡季(即所说的需求周期)。淡季持续时间从一周一两天到一年两三月不等。要应对这种不景气的时节,酒店就得准备好各种有创意的促销活动。比方说,限时优惠,内部大降价,促销价,针对当地节日、景点推出的让利套餐等。把这些促销信息通过邮件、社交媒体、官网发出去,在淡季也能让客人产生需求,从而为酒店创收。


      可别小看专业照片和视频。不骗你,一张图能瞬间提升网站的设计档次,也能毁掉整个网站。现在大图当道,访问者一进你的网站,首先看到的就是这张图,它的重要性不言而喻。你自己用智能手机随便拍的一张冷冷清清的酒店大堂图,和专业人士拍的热闹非凡的大堂图相比,当然是后者胜出。怎样才能让客人看到好图呢?第一步得先准备好专业摄影器材,列好拍摄次序,优先拍酒店的特色、优势设施等,让目标客户一看就认可酒店。当你的文件夹里有了这些高质量的照片和视频后,不管是更新酒店网站还是做促销都会顺利很多,酒店订房业务也上去了。


投资回报率的真相 & 对它的期望值

      计算投资回报率时,有一些造假的手段,比方说虚报成本,对促销活动的收益统计不准确等等。 所以计算这个数据时务必谨慎,如果是别人计算好了给你看,也要检查是否正确。投资回报率的底限是10:1,意味着每花一块钱就应该有十块钱的回报,但在某些情况下也会有20:1、40:1 甚至更高的回报率。对于数字营销来说,刚开始的时候能有10:1就不错了。下次你看到一些高得吓人的投资回报率时,要想想这靠不靠谱。同样,当报表显示回报率低于10:1时,说明你要开始琢磨新法子提高回报率了。


      投资回报率也可以用百分比来表示,这样看起来会更直观。请看下面这个例子:

      回报金额 = 11万美金
      总投资(本金,运营费,战略成本等等)=1万美金
      投资回报率是:(11万美金 – 1万美金)/1万美金 = 10:1


     10:1的投资回报率写成百分比就是1000%. 同理,公司说投资回报率是2782%,实际就是28:1.


      无论如何,投资回报率一起步就不能低于10:1. 合理的做法是稳步提升它,从10:1 提到12:1,再到15:1, 以此类推。


      至于广告开支回报率,请牢记它的定义。它不像投资回报率那样包含了总投资(本金,运营费,战略成本等等),它只需要考虑实际广告开支。这意味着广告开支回报率写成百分比的话,一般来说都是个大数字。举例,三万五千美金回报/一千美金的广告开支=35:1(3500%)的广告开支回报率。



(英文原文出处: William Bellis III, Hotel and Resort Digital Marketing Budgets: Avoid the Headaches and Get it Right! – A Three Part Series, 2013.10, hospitalitynet